Tuesday, December 7, 2010

it's my life

wow, quite a bit has happened lately. firstly I am at home at the mo, originally I was here to discuss my MSc topic with my parents, this has changed tho and now I am considering moving to Queenstown for next year - insane I know. My topic was always going to be on something about rural municipalities etc here in the EC. So when I got home last week my parents were like "why are you studying a municipality in the EC from CT, why not work for them and gain 1st hand experience?" - i hate it when they're so logical. Seriously tho, why didn't I think of that??? So now I'm applying to the Queenstown Municipality and will se how that goes. 
I'm going back to CT tomoro and the Tanj is coming for the weekend and we're planning a serious whale :)

But I digress : this past weekend was a serious whale. On Sat I went for a walk with my Dad, St and the dogs in the morning at Nahoon Reef, everything was going fine and we were meandering along the rocks cos it was low tide until i stepped on some super slippery green algea and went down into the water! less whaleish more whale-like! hahaha. my dad and st laughed and laughed and then asked if i was ok - typical. this didn't deter us from continuing the walk tho, i just had to do it soaking wet. we hiked up and over the back of the sand dunes (Cathy knows this route) and by the time we got back to the bakkie i was almost dry!!

My Dad's bought himself a deep sea fishing boat for Christmas and after the meander while i was still wet we decided to put the boat in the Buffalo and check that it doesn't sink, it's second hand and looks a bit worse for wear. So my dad, st, line and i whaled down there and zooted around on the boat for a while, it was really fun.

After all the excitement I needed a nap.
Then I went to watch Spud with Cat and her friends that evening at the Hem -so busy and so many children!
the movie wasn't as good as the book but it wasn't bad. i was semi shocked by the lack of tolerance by everyone there tho. On the way in I saw someone accidently knock the lady in front of her with her handbag and the guy she was with was so rude causing a scene about lack of manners etc. I understand that getting bumped can be annoying but it's really not that serious! Then during the movie there was a baby making a bit of noise, also mildly annoying but NOT THAT SERIOUS! And every time the baby whimpered a whole lot of ppl would go 'ssshhhhh'!! seriously? wtf??? I felt like getting on my soap box and delivering a sermon on tolerance! 

Anyway that was Sat, on sun I went swimming with tarryn at the Joan. wow the joan's gone down. the water was so gross and had so much other stuff in it...so gross. and the tiles were broken and the plaster coming off the walls - seriously different from back in the day when everything was shiney and new.

Then the Tanj met us and we went to play tennis at Hams...Tanj talks a big talk about being a serious sports person back in the day so i assumed she knew how to play tennis - WRONG! she's terrible, realy really bad. kept missing the ball like there was a hole in her racket!! hahaha but it was hysterical and a pretty good work out so all was not lost.
after we played singles for a while we played doubles with tarryn and her madhatter friend natalie...what a hoot!

After tennis we went shopping for a bit and to the indian expo - too much of bling, my eyes hurt by the end of it!  

Shoe what an essay, i'm bored of writing now and am gonna get back to my cv, cheerio chommies :)

1 comment:

  1. Tennis is for sissies!!!

    That's not a real sport anyway!!!!

    ReplyDelete